2017 Annual Yukon Heritage Awards Ceremony

Monday, February 19, 2018

Date: Monday, February 19, 2018
Time: 7 pm (doors open 6:30 pm)
Location: Yukon Archives, Whitehorse

Come out and celebrate Yukon's heritage heroes!

Join YHMA for the evening to honour our 2017 Yukon Heritage Award winners, coinciding with the start Heritage Week, February 19-25. Awards will be presented to six deserving recipients who have made outstanding contributions to the preservation of heritage in the Yukon:

  • Leda Jules (Annual Heritage Award)
  • Peggy D'Orsay (History Maker Award)
  • Alice Cyr (Volunteer of the Year Award)
  • Lily Gontard and Mark Kelly (Innovation, Education, and Community Engagement Award)
  • Teslin Tlingit Council (Heritage Conservation Project of the Year Award)


In connection with this year’s Heritage Week theme, “Heritage Stands the Test of Time,” Dr. Brent Slobodin, Yukon's newly appointed representative on the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, will give a presentation on the work of the Board and his role, including key changes occurring under the administrative direction of Minister for the Environment Catherine McKenna.

Light refreshments will be served. Attendees will also have the opportunity to vote on entries in our annual Heritage Day kids' colouring and trivia contest to help select the winners. All are welcome!

For more information on this year's recipients, check out our press release. Award descriptions can be found here.