Built in 1900, the Old Log Church and Rectory are among the oldest buildings in Whitehorse. Today, the church's exhibits and interactive displays tell stories about the early days of missionaries, whalers, explorers and Yukon First Nations. The impressive collection of artifacts, including a unique collection of Inuvialuit articles from Herschel Island, and numerous historic photographs offer a great way for visitors to learn about the early contact between Europeans and the Yukon's First Nations people. The museum is also the best place to hear about the legendary "Bishop Who Ate His Boots!" The museum gift shop is open daily. It has a good selection of books and locally-made products unique to the museum.
This Exhibit tells the story of daily life in Old Crow through the eyes of Mrs. Exham. Old Crow is a small community situated deep within the northern Yukon. It lies on the banks of the Porcupine River and neighbours the extraordinary Vuntut National Park. The story of the Exhams begins with Reverend Kenah Exham and his wife, Beth-Anne. The couple lived and worked in Old Crow between the years of 1965 and 1969. During this time period, they developed a passion for artwork and became avid collectors of traditional Gwich'in art. The Gwich'in are known for their expertise in beadwork and sewing which was an interest to Beth-Anne. After the Exhams departed Old Crow in 1969, Mrs. Exham kindly donated her collection of photographs and artwork to the museum. The artifacts nicely portray the role the Church played within the community of Old Crow. Experience the Gwich'in artwork and sacred traditions that are frozen in time. This exhibit can be accessed at the Old Log Church Museum.
Due to the COVID-19 virus, the Old Log Church Museum is closed for the 2020 season
Typical Operating Hours
May - September:
Monday - Saturday, 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday, 12:00pm - 4:00pm